Obama Administration Releases Consumer Data Privacy Framework

The White House recently released a plan intended to promote trust in the digital economy and extend consumer privacy protections to commercial sectors that existing federal privacy laws do not address.

The Report calls for Congress to pass a “Consumer Privacy Bill of Rights,” which would define seven rights for consumers utilizing the Internet:

  1. Individual control
  2. Transparency
  3. Respect for context
  4. Security
  5. Access and accuracy
  6. Focused collection
  7. Accountability

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) would, through its authority to prohibit unfair or deceptive acts or practices, handle enforcement.

The Report also calls for increased interoperability between the privacy framework developed in the United States and other countries.

The White House urged Congress to enact the Consumer Bill of Rights into law.

“The Consumer Privacy Bill of Rights applies to personal data, which means any data, including aggregations of data, that is linkable to a specific individual,” said the White House.

Check out the full report here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s